Upcoming Activities

  • All
  • Early Dismissal
Add to Google Calendar Subscribe to Calendar Download iCal
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Playground Update and Meeting
Time: 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: St. John Paul II School

Playground meeting and election
Thursday, October 18, 7:00 pm
St. John Paul II School

Now that school has settled in, I am sure you are aware of the need for outdoor spaces for your new (or new to you) schools.

For anyone new to our Fort Saskatchewan Catholic schools, we are four Catholic schools that have been restructured from three Catholic schools upon the completion of a new Catholic high school.  Within the restructuring process we have the following changes:

  1. St. John XXIII (SJXXIII) (grades K-4) has half the number of students as half of the students were reallocated to OLA.
  2. Our Lady of the Angels (OLA) has changed from a middle school (grades 5-8) into an elementary school (grades K-4).
  3. St. John Paul II (JPII) has changed from a high school (grades 9-12) into a middle school (grades 5-8).
  4. St. Andre Bessette (SAB) is a new build for a high school (grades 9-12).

These changes were much needed, but have resulted in the playgrounds, equipment and outdoor spaces being inappropriate or non-existent for three of the four schools.  We are left with the current problems that need remedying:

  1. OLA (grades K-4): has 30-year-old playground equipment more appropriate for a middle school
  2. JPII (grades 5-8):  does not have any playground or outdoor play structures since it had been a high school
  3. JPII (grades 5-8):  we will need to remove half of the parking lot to make room for an outdoor play structure
  4. SAB (grades 9-12):  does not have any outdoor gathering spaces and needs benches or picnic tables
  5. SJXXIII (grades K-4):  due to school enrollment at full capacity for so long, the playground is worn.  They just received a bill for $40,000 to replace a broken play structure.

We are applying for grants and fundraising to replace old playgrounds and to build new ones where needed.  We are fundraising as one community as we see our Catholic schools as one family, with close connections with each other.  We plan on raising these funds together, and together building outdoor spaces adequate for all our Catholic schools.  As ambitious as it sounds, we would like to complete our fundraising within 18 months.  

We will have a meeting to elect an executive to carry these efforts forward. The executive would be responsible for working with the respective school principals, continuing to stay in contact with our grant’s writer, and securing a company to purchase playground and outdoor equipment from.

Please attend this meeting on Thursday, October 18th at 7:00 pm at SJPII School (9975 – 93 Ave. Fort Saskatchewan, AB.)

Thank you,
Donamarie Lukie
Pope John XXIII Parent Society Chair

Friday, October 19, 2018
Alberta Opera Performance at St. John XXIII
Time: 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Students will bus to St. John XXIII to attend the performance.

Monday, October 22, 2018
Kindergarten Safely On Board Presentation
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, October 29, 2018
Lifetouch Retake Picture Day
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Grade 3 Rec Swim
Time: 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Sunday, November 4, 2018
Daylight Savings Time Ends - Fall Back 1 Hour
Monday, November 5, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, November 19, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, November 26, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, December 3, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, December 10, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, December 17, 2018
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, January 7, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Time: 12:00 am
Monday, January 14, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, January 21, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, January 28, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, February 4, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, February 11, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, February 25, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, March 4, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, March 11, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, March 18, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, April 1, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, April 8, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, April 15, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, April 29, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, May 6, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, May 13, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, May 27, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, June 3, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Early Dismissal at 2:19 pm
Monday, June 10, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, June 17, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Monday, June 24, 2019
Assembly - Please join us!
Time: 9:00 am - 9:30 am